aerial photo of Vancouver, BC Header Item 1

Past Award Winners

Previous BC Tourism & Hospitality Industry Awards

The Awards were established in 1999 by Tourism British Columbia and the Tourism Industry Association of BC. Since the inaugural event, the Awards program has grown substantially.

Listed below are past Tourism Industry Award Winners by Category.

BC Destination Marketing Organization Association Professional Excellence Award
2010 Tourism Richmond and Tourism Victoria (inaugural year)
2011 Tourism Abbotsford
2012 Tourism Langley
2015 Destination Osoyoos
2017 Tourism Golden
2018 Tourism Chilliwack
2019 Tourism Kelowna

Employees First Award
2005 Delta Vancouver Airport Hotel
2006 Rocky Mountaineer Vacations
2007 Tigh-Na-Mara
2008 The Exploration Place
2009 Grouse Mountain Resort
2010 White Spot Hospitality
2011 Panorama Mountain Resort
2012 Ziptrek Ecotours
2015 Sun Peaks Resort LLP
2017 Landsea Tours & Adventures
2018 Island Lake Lodge
2019 Accent Inns

Innovation Award
2015 Northern BC Tourism Plaza – Northern BC Tourism Association
2017 Share Vancouver Campaign – Black Ball Ferry Line, Tourism Nanaimo, Tourism Tofino and Sooke Regional Tourism Association
2018 World Class Wild Campaign – Fairmont Hotels
2019 Thompson Okanagan Tourism Association of BC and Fishing BC

Remarkable Experience Award
2015 Horne Lake Caves Provincial Park & Outdoor Centre
2017 Free Spirit Spheres Inc.
2018 Spirit of the West Adventures
2019 CMH Summer Adventures

Customer Service Award
2000 Jutta Wegener, Go West Campers
2001 Grimoalda De Amaral, Concierge
2002 Joldie Hayes, Tourism Chilliwack
2003 Irvin Leroux & Jill Moore
2004 Shannan Brown, Campbell River
2005 Wayne & Nina Hamelin, Round Lake Resort
2006 Agazzi Abay
2007 Lorraine Hamelin
2008 Tamara Turcotte, Airport Travelodge Sidney
2009 Darrel Dueck, Elysia Resort on Quesnel Lake
2010 Volunteers and Staff of the Vancouver 2010 Olympics and Paralympics Winter Games
2011 Erik Graff
2012 Andrea Chan, Holiday Inn and Suites Vancouver
2015 Anne-Julie Parent, Interpreter at the Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre
2017 Yolanta Malkovska, 8th Generation Vineyard
2018 Bram Bolwijin, Mission Hill Family Estate Winery
2019 Jan Dobbener, Quail’s Gate

Indigenous Tourism Award
2019 Quaaout Lodge and Talking Rock Golf Course

Best Tourism Marketing Campaign Award
2000 The Great Canadian Railtour Company
2001 Revelstoke Chamber of Commerce
2002 The Exploration Place
2003 Richmond Tall Ships
2004 Vancouver Island Cycle Tourism Alliance
2005 The Royal BC Museum
2006 BC Wine Institute
2007 Rocky Mountaineer Vacations
2008 Van Dop Arts and Cultural Guide to BC
2009 Tourism Victoria
2010 Rocky Mountaineer
2011 Capilano Suspension Bridge Park CLIFFWALK
2012 Tourism Victoria (for the “Escape Your Every Day” campaign)

Cultural Authenticity Award
2010 Xwisten Experience Tours
2011 U’Mista Cultural Centre
2012 Squamish Lil’wat Cultural Centre and Xatśūll Heritage Village

Environmentally Responsible Tourism Award
2000 Mulvehill Creek Wilderness Inn
2001 Whistler / Blackcomb
2002 Mt. Washington Alpine Resort
2003 Stubbs Island Whale Watching
2004 Strathcona Park Lodge & Outdoor Education Centre
2005 Canadian Mountain Holidays
2006 Sun Peaks Resort Corporation
2007 Whistler Blackcomb Mountain Resorts Ltd.
2008 Vancouver Convention & Exhibition Centre
2009 Yasodhara Ashram Yoga Retreat & Study Centre
2010 The Fairmont Waterfront
2011 The Refinery Market.Style.Eatery

Sport Tourism Community Legacy Award
2006 Sport Kelowna
2007 City of Kamloops – Tournament Capital Program
2008 Initiatives Prince George – “Train In PG”
2009 Tourism Abbotsford – Sport Town Canada marketing strategy
2010 City of Richmond/Tourism Richmond
2011 Penticton & Wine Country Tourism
2012 The Fairmont Waterfront Hotel

Foresight Sustainability Award
2007 Rocky Mountaineer Vacations
2008 Vancouver Aquarium
2009 Delta Sun Peaks Resort and Residence
2010 Grouse Mountain Resorts Limited

Outside of the Box Award
2000 Vancouver Aquarium Marine Science Centre
2001 The Wickaninnish Inn
2002 Rock Candy Safari
2003 The Aerie Resort
2004 Nk’Mip Cellars
2005 Treetops Adventure, Capilano Suspension Bridge
2006 stars 4 SUCCESS

Technology in Tourism Award
2003 The Sunshine Coast Bed & Breakfast and Cottage Owners Association
2004 Vancouver International Airport Authority
2005 Canadian Mountain Holidays
2006 Intrawest Leisure & Travel Group
2007 Tourism Whistler
2008 Kootenay Rockies Tourism
2009 The Angler’s Atlas
2010 Tourism Vancouver
2011 Tourism Vancouver
2012 The Vancouver Aquarium

The William Van Horne Visionary Award
2000 Holland America Line and Princess Cruises
2001 Lawrie Wallace – Deputy Minister, Patrick Reid – Ambassador and Commissioner of Expo 86 and Grace McCarthy – Minister of Tourism
2002 Anthony von Mandl – Mission Hill Family Estate
2003 Betty Fata, President – Venue West Conference Management Services, Lloyd K. Naess – CP Air (retired)
2004 Rick Lemon, Honourable Mike Harcourt, John Jennings
2005 Gerry Lloyd, BC Aviation Council
2006 Rick Hansen
2007 Gordon Bell, Duncan Myers, Dave Williamson, Earl Hansen, Doug McIntosh, Rick Antonson, John Dye and Bob Tuss
2008 Walter Smith
2009 Terry Hood, General Manager, LinkBC and Dr. Brian White, Director, School of Tourism & Hotel Management, Royal Roads University

Tourism Industry Leader of the Year Award
2000 Hugh Smythe, Intrawest
2001 Bill Barkley
2002 Clive J. Beddoe, WestJet Airlines
2003 The Honourable Judd Buchanan
2004 Jack Poole
2005 Kevin Walker, The Walker Hospitality Group
2006 Premier Gordon Campbell
2007 Peter Armstrong, Armstrong Group
2008 Lorne Whyte

Tourism Media Award
2000 Good Earth Productions
2001 Carl Duncan, Travel Writer
2002 Hilda Anderson, Seattle Post-Intelligencer
2003 Margo Pfeiff, Travel Writer
2004 Jack Christie, Travel Writer
2005 Getaway, Channel 9 Australia
2006 John Lee, Travel Writer
2007 Mitchell Scott, Travel Writer
2008 Air New Zealand
2009 Organic Living with the Hippy Gourmet
2010 NBC Today Show and NBC Sports and Olympics
2011 Castlewood Productions – Best. Trip. Ever.
2012 Travel Channel (China)